Mostrar mensagens com a etiqueta entreposto. Mostrar todas as mensagens
Mostrar mensagens com a etiqueta entreposto. Mostrar todas as mensagens

terça-feira, 27 de julho de 2021

Wiese & Krohn, Sucrs., Lda.

EN/PT

 Short facts about the city of wine (3.)

Photo of the Wiese & Krohn Port wine cellar interior, at the Gaia Entreposto, on rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149, taken on November 2012, just a few months before its final closure, following the company acquisition by the Fladgate Partnership group.

    The long history of Port wine is inseparable from the geographical areas that wrote it and that help us better understand it. First, the city of Porto, which gives its name to the wine and which is historically the Port wine business and trade center, then, Vila Nova de Gaia, or the Gaia Entrepostro, across the river Douro from Porto, which corresponds approximately to its historic center area and is associated with Port wine storage, ageing and export, and finally, upstream the Douro river, the Demarcated Douro wine region, the area linked with the wine production.

    Wiese & Krohn was founded in 1865, better known simply as "Krohn", as a small family business, founded by Theodore Wiese and Dankert Krohn, both of norwegian origin, they were originally dried cod traders, who, on the return trip to their country used their boats to transport Port wine, where it was sold, apparently successfully. In addition to selling Port wine in Norway, exports expanded to Scandinavian markets, Stockholm, Eindhoven, Copenhagen and Germany. Always with a great export vocation, later in the first years of the XX century, Port wine exports reached new markets, France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

    In short, moving a little further in time, in 1910, the Port wine company becomes fully portuguese owned, when Edmundo Falcão Carneiro, at the time acquired all the shares of the other company partners.

    Wiese & Krohn has invested and specialized over the years becoming renowned for its collection of quality tawny Port wines aged in cask for many years, especially Colheita or Single Harvest tawny Port category.


     In 1912, Wiese & Krohn had its warehouses in Vila Nova de Gaia, across the river from Porto, where was located the great concentration of historic Port wine warehouses of the main exporters, on rua de Serpa Pinto n.º 9 and n.º 149. In 1933, a deposit house and office was located in Porto, on rua da Fábrica, n.º 45, 1st floor (here in a photo taken nowadays).



Left: rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149, Vila Nova de Gaia. Right: rua da Fábrica, n.º 45, Porto.

    In1989 it acquired Quinta do Retiro Novo in the Douro Cima Corgo sub-region, in Sarzedinho, in the river Torto valley, which also includes its winemaking center.

    The company owned six warehouses in the Gaia Entreposto, and the warehouse on rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149 where Port wines were aged since 1880 was also the company's visitor center. What was really special and the charm of this small traditional warehouse was that we entered in an environment of discretion and mistery that surrounded the cellar interior spaces, since it was intentionally kept as faithfully as possible since the end of the XIX century, with a sense of authenticity that allowed whoever entered to travel back in time, without any kind of sophistication that so characterizes other wine cellars nowadays but that also ruins hopelessly the authenticity and atmosphere of these unique spaces.

    At the entrance we could read: "Welcome to Wiese & Krohn. In this cellar we age Port wines since the 19th century. Inside you will find an important part of our rarities, carefully stored in ideal conditions, light and temperature. Experience the traditional atmosphere of an historic cellar and end your visit with a tasting of our wines.":

    It remained an independent family business until the third generation of the Falcão Carneiro family and until June 2013, the date Wiese & Krohn was acquired and became a part of the Fladgate Partnership group universe (which also includes the Port wine brands: Taylor's, Croft, Fonseca Guimaraens, Skeffington and Romariz), which now counts on its precious Colheita/Single Harvest tawny Port stocks, with some Port wine ageing in casks since 1863 and 1896. However, the wine cellars where Port wine has aged for so long, on rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149, in Vila Nova de Gaia, were not part of the Fladgate Partnership's plans and have been permanently deactivated and closed. The historic building lost its former usefullness after more than a century, and is at the mercy of the real estate interests that so quickly have been mischaracterizing and destroying this special place which is the Gaia historic center, which became poorer. 


Wiese & Krohn, Sucrs., Lda

Breves factos sobre a cidade do vinho (3.)

    A longa história do vinho do Porto é indissociável dos espaços que a escrevem e que nos ajudam à sua melhor compreensão. Desde logo, a cidade do Porto que dá o nome ao vinho e que historicamente representa o centro de negócios e comércio do vinho do Porto, depois o Entreposto de Gaia, que corresponde aproximadamente à área do seu centro histórico e é o espaço associado ao envelhecimento, armazenamento e exportação e, mais a montante no rio Douro, a região demarcada do Douro que é a área de produção.

    A Wiese & Krohn foi fundada no ano de 1865, talvez mais conhecida apenas por "Krohn", uma pequena empresa familiar fundada por Theodore Wiese e Dankert Krohn, ambos de origem norueguesa, comerciantes de bacalhau que, na viagem de regresso ao seu país, utilizavam os seus barcos para transporte de vinho do Porto, onde o vendiam. Para além da Noruega, as exportações alargaram-se aos mercados escandinavos, Estocolmo, Eindhoven, Copenhaga e Alemanha. Sempre com uma grande vocação para a exportação, mais tarde, nos primeiros anos do século XX, as exportações chegariam a novos mercados como a França, Bélgica e Países Baixos.

    Resumindo, e avançando um pouco mais no tempo, em 1910, torna-se numa casa de vinho do Porto totalmente portuguesa, quando Edmundo Falcão Carneiro adquiriu naquela data a totalidade das quotas dos outros sócios da empresa.

    Esta casa de vinho do Porto, desde o seu início e ao longo dos anos, investiu, especializou-se e tornou-se conhecida e reputada pela qualidade da sua colecção de vinhos do Porto tawny envelhecidos em casco durante longos anos, sobretudo da categoria Porto Colheita.

    A Wiese & Krohn tinha os seus armazéns em Vila Nova de Gaia, onde se localizava a grande concentração de armazéns de vinho do Porto das principais casas exportadoras, localizados na rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 9 (e n.º 149) e, em 1933, o depósito e escritórios no Porto, na rua da Fábrica, n.º 45, 1.º andar (aqui numa fotografia recente).

    Em 1989, adquiriu a Quinta do Retiro Novo, no Douro, em Sarzedinho, no vale do rio Torto, sub-região do Cima Corgo, que integra também o centro de vinificação da empresa.

    A empresa chegou a deter seis armazéns em Vila Nova de Gaia e o armazém da rua de Serpa Pinto n.º 149, onde envelheciam os vinhos do Porto desde 1880, era também o centro de recepção de visitantes da casa. O que tinha de verdadeiramente especial e o charme deste pequeno armazém tradicional era, aceder a um ambiente de discrição e mistério que envolve estes espaços, que foi mantido intencionalmente o mais fiel possível tal como era desde finais do século XIX, com um forte sentido de autenticidade que nos permitia viajar no tempo, um espaço sem qualquer tipo de sofisticação que tanto caracteriza outras caves hoje em dia, mas que arruína a autenticidade e o ambiente próprio destes locais únicos.

    Na entrada podia lêr-se: "Bem vindo à Wiese & Krohn. Nesta nossa cave envelhecemos vinhos do Porto desde o século XIX. No seu interior encontrará uma parte importante das nossas raridades, em condições ideais de luz e temperatura. Viva o ambiente tradicional de uma cave histórica e termine a sua visita com a prova dos nossos vinhos.".

    A empresa manteve-se familiar e independente até à terceira geração da família Falcão Carneiro, até Junho de 2013, data em que a Wiese & Krohn foi adquirida e passou a integrar o grupo The Fladgate Partnership (que integra também as marcas de vinho do Porto, Taylor's, Croft, Fonseca Guimaraens, Skeffington e Romariz),  que passou a contar com os seus preciosos stocks de vinho do Porto tawny Colheita, com  vinhos em casco datados de 1863 e 1896.

    No entanto, as caves da casa onde os vinhos do Porto eram envelhecidos, na rua de Serpa Pinto, em Vila Nova de Gaia, não fizeram parte dos planos deste importante grupo e foram desactivadas e encerraram. O edifício histórico, ao fim de mais de um século, perdeu a sua utilidade e está à mercê dos interesses imobiliários que tanto e tão chocantemente têm contribuído para a descaracterização e destruição deste local especial nos últimos anos. O centro histórico de Gaia ficou mais pobre.

©Hugo Sousa Machado

          more information here / mais informação aqui:

The shadows of the Gaia Entreposto

Calém or A.A. Calém & Filhos, Lda.: short facts about the city of wine (2)

Blackett & Ca., Lda.: short facts about the city of wine (1)


segunda-feira, 14 de maio de 2018

The shadows of the Gaia "Entreposto"

EN
    Before we start this journey through the recent major urban changes that invade the Gaia historical center, specifically the urban set that constitutes the Gaia Entreposto (*), it is worth remembering the words of the Vila Nova de Gaia city council responsible, at the 1st international conference "Cities of River and Wine" (promoted by Gaiurb, E.M. in partnership with the Gaia city council), in March 2015: "...at its river mouth, in our common river mouth to Porto, the river Douro is the mirror of a rich heritage, that we must know how to preserve for all Humanity... it is evident that our collective responsability for the preservation of this heritage is enormous...", and continued "...the strict defense of this unique heritage is a challenge that demands permanent attention, study and reflection.".

    Much has changed since that year. On hearing these words, perhaps we could rely on a firm and uncompromising commitment to the protection and respect for this historical area. An error. In fact, this rhetorical exercise, over the years, proved to be empty and meaningless, totally divergent and surpassed by the reality and the "dynamic" of the facts.

    First of all, let's take a look at Gaia's historic center, one of the most beautiful urban landscapes linked to wine, the hillside historic landscape that someone has already called the world's largest wine cellar, its historical heritage and memory are the buildings and the structures of the warehouses dedicated to the storage, commerce and shipping of Port wine since the 17th century, but especially from the 18th century onwards, located on the left bank slope of the river, which descends to the Douro. This centuries old heritage is the historical reference, the character and the identity of this whole place, which translates a direct connection with the past and is unique and does not exist anywhere else in the world, which has stood the test of time but does not resist man.


    Today we are witnessing an accelerated series of monstrous architectyral attacks and cruelties on the Gaia's historical Port wine warehouses, with the "dynamics" and "increments", supposedly grandiose accomplishments, in a furious wave of new and modern brutal irreparable and irreversible defiguration of these values of the past. It is worth remembering the words of Carlos de Passos, in the "New Porto Monography" (in 1938), which apply perfectly to this case: "... I do not think there is any land in the country where the architectural values of the past have been so insane and rapidly demolished." "It was only the foolish modernizing endeavor that competes, par le bon motif, for such great destruction now enlarged, also for equal cause by the restorer, by the grotesque repositions...".

Shadow 1: rua do Choupelo, next to the hotel "The Yeatman".

    The Gaia historical center is the place where at present everything is possible.

    Under construction is a kind of a modern wine theme park called "World of Wine" or "WoW" (which, very appropriately, the architect Mariana Abrunhosa Pereira called a wine "Disneyland"), responsability of the Fladgate Partnership (holder of the Port wine brands Taylor's, Fonseca Guimaraens, Croft and Wiese & Krohn, and also in the growing tourism sector, in which they are engaged, the owner of the "Yeatman" Hotel in Gaia), on the slope of the hotel "The Yeatman" (which in another case of a recent and debatable construction in this landscape), and the object of a very fast license from the local authority (I read somewhere that the construction began - the laying of the first stone - without the necesary license). I also have nothing to oppose to a wine theme park, to atract and fascinate tourists, but certainly elsewhere, because, in fact, it is a project that, as someone else already written, can be built anywhere else, but not here, because here is a decisive contribution to the historical warehouse disappearance and to the decharacterization of this site.

WoW (1)
WoW (2)

    It is a gigantic project that imposes itself and stands out in the landscape and does not respect the place that will be hopelessly disfigured, 
referred to by the Fladgate Partnership Director General, Adrian Bridge, in these terms: "Who does not like the project (the WoW), does not like what's there now either...". Without comments, is impressive the arrogance and the lightness of this attitude, forgetting that one of the reasons for its existence, disappears with this project, in the name of tourism developments, the impressive numbers, 100 million invested, 30 thousand hectares, 12 restaurants, 5 museums, in an admirable world certainly with a lot of interactivity, many undifferentiated stores, for whom the heritage of centuries is an obstacle, or at least it has been so far.

Rua do Choupelo, the old Croft warehouses, with the inner structures destroyed, at this stage only some of the walls remain.

    From Adrian Bridge's speech, the strategy followed by the Fladgate Partnership is clear with the acquisition of other Port wine houses, not only to widen the Port wine brands portfolio and increase the specialized Port wine categories stock, but also to gain and increase the space that it holds in this special area of Gaia, not to keep the warehouses alive, but for this type of enterprise, presenting the very convenient argument that it is the only way to keep them alive. There are other examples that prove that it is not true.

Shadow 2: rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149, the old Wiese & Krohn warehouses.

    Now, let's take a look at the recent Wiese & Krohn case, acquired by the Fladgate Partnership in June 2013. W&K was a family owned Port wine house, founded in 1865 by two norwegian businessmen, with a high reputation for its aged in cask Port wines, mainly the "colheita" tawny style and for its precious stocks. It was located in rua de Serpa Pinto, n.º 149 (see photos), with the main door topped with the characteristic house designation "art deco" letters, in the Gaia historic center, where was located its distinctive warehouse where the wine aged since the 19th century, unlike any other and where one could read at the main entrance: "...cheers to the traditional atmosphere of a historic wine cellar.". 

    Soon after the acquidition, the warehouses were emptied and the wine stocks, casks and "balseiros" were removed. As had already happened with the "Fonseca" cellars, on the Gaia castle slope, known today as the "for sale" cellars. Since the Fladgate Partnership has not chosen to maintain and value this space, which as always been linked to Port wine ageing and trade, these cellars are closed and the building is for sale and also at the mercy of any other "dynamic momentum of intelligent development".

The Wiese & Krohn extinct warehouse

    We proceed with yet another shocking and unbelievable example of the accelarated process of decharacterization and impoverishment of Gaia's historic center, the opening of a "cash & carry" supermarket, just in Avenida de Diogo Leite, in the building of the Real Companhia Velha 3 century old Port wine warehouses, right next to also historical Ferreira wines cellars. The building was adapted, or to be strict and more appropriatly, hopelessly destroyed inside, and now with unrecognizable exterior and interior areas, transformed into a supermarket, with the omnipresent tourist stores in the back. Of course, all this happens with Gaia city council approval, that reveals its distorted understanding of the planning for the "commitment to the strict protection of the heritage...", but with "intelligent interventions" it is understood, without obstacles and impediments to the business development impact, without any conditions that may limit wathsoever, so is the Gaia "modern" historic center.

Shadow 3: the present Real Companhia Velha building, a supermarket


    In turn, the "Douro Azul" head responsible, with rare and fine sensitivity to deal with all matters related to historic heritage informed... and disregarded those who heard him, that finally and after so many years, Real Companhia Velha woul again occupy this place... it shoul be remembered that it is just another wine shop for tourists in a completly modernized building.

The back perspective of the disappeared Real Companhia Velha warehouses

   It is strange, difficult to perceive and little rational, that companies that depend on tourism, as is the case of Fladgate Partnership and Douro Azul, among others, and that in turn tourism is attracted by what only exists here, which is the Port wine trade historical heritage that represents the first point of interest in those who visit us, is consciously destroyed and uncharacterized and repalced by modern projects and buildings of indistict architecture, like so many others in any part of the world. Finally, when there is too little left, an interactive museum will surely offer the unique "experience" of showing what was and is no longer, a virtual tour to the old cellars: to explain the evolutions of the buildind techniques, with special attention to the interiors, the arches, the wooden frames on the roofs, why certain materials were used in the interior construction and not others, ramps, pavements, how the wine casks were moved, the ventilation conditions, the luminosity and the temperature throughout the seasons, and even will be possible to perfectly simulate the distinctive aroma felt inside the wine cellars...
Shadow 4: the very "modern" interior of the old Mercado da Beira Rio

    The Gaia municipal market or the Beira Rio market, also on the Avenida de Diogo Leite, is now anothet place converted into a series of gourmet counters , which in no way differs from the interior of any shopping center, a rapid renovation project (as they almost all are nowadays) that in its interior followed the same stereotyped model with the usual cheap material use, for an undemanding tourism.

    Here, no trace of any "growing importance that is being attributed to the heritage issues", much less "the greater public opinion attention to the enhancement of identity and memory", only an underlined uncritical novelty reproduction. Apart very rare exceptions, considering the seriousness of these matters, between general newspapers and magazines and those dedicated to the wine world, critics, journalists and personalilities responsible in various sectors, there is a commited strange silence, an inability to indignation, or at least an opinion.

    For the time being, all the photos taken now (cut by the touristic cable car) will be historical in a very short time.


On rua de Serpa Pinto, Vila Nova de Gaia
_________________________

 (1) The Gaia Entreposto: was created in 1926, it was an exclusive area, which functioned as an extension of the Douro demarcated region, for the Port wine storage and ageing, where the warehouses of the companies that dedicated to the trade of this generous wine were located. All Port wine had to be exported through the Entreposto. This exclusive area ended in 1986, when it was allowed the direct export of bottled Port wine to the Douro based producers.

©Hugo Sousa Machado

          may also interest:



terça-feira, 8 de maio de 2018

As Sombras do Entreposto de Gaia

PT
    Antes de iniciarmos este percurso por algumas das principais e mais recentes alterações urbanísticas que invadem o centro histórico de Gaia, concretamente o conjunto urbano que constituí o Entreposto de Gaia(1), vale a pena relembrarmos as palavras do responsável pela autarquia de Vila Nova de Gaia, no âmbito da 1.ª conferência internacional "Cidades de Rio e Vinho (promovida pela Gaiurb, E.M. em parceria com a Câmara Municipal de Vila Nova de Gaia), em Março de 2015: "...na sua foz, na nossa foz comum ao Porto, o Douro é o espelho de um riquíssimo património que nos cabe saber preservar para toda a Humanidade...", "...é evidente que a nossa responsabilidade colectiva na preservação deste património é enorme...", e continuou com "...a rigorosa defesa deste património único é um desafio que exige atenção permanente, estudo e reflexão.".

    Muito mudou desde aquele ano. Com estas palavras talvez pudéssemos confiar num firme e intransigente empenho com a "rigorosa" protecção e respeito por este "património único". Erro. Na realidade, este exercício de retórica, com o correr dos anos, revelou-se vazio e sem significado, totalmente ultrapassado pela realidade e "dinâmica" dos factos.
    
    Fixemos então um ponto prévio, um enquadramento com a imagem do centro histórico de Gaia, uma das mais belas paisagens urbanas ligadas ao vinho, a paisagem histórica da encosta que alguém já chamou de maior adega do mundo. O seu património histórico são os edifícios e as estruturas que constituem os armazéns dedicados ao comércio e armazenamento do vinho do Porto, desde o séc. XVII, mas sobretudo a partir do séc. XVIII e que ocupam a encosta da margem esquerda do rio, que desce até ao Douro. Este património é o referencial histórico, o carácter e a identidade deste lugar, traduz uma ligação directa com o passado, é único e não existe em nenhum outro lugar do mundo, que resistiu ao tempo mas não resiste ao homem.
    
    Assistimos hoje, a uma série acelerada de crueldades arquitectónicas, atentados monstruosos a que se sujeitam os armazéns históricos de Gaia, com "dinâmicas" e "incrementos", realizações pretensamente grandiosas, numa vaga furiosa pelo novo e moderno e com o desfiguramento brutal, irremediável e irreversível destes valores do passado. Recordemos as palavras de Carlos de Passos, na Nova Monografia do Porto, em 1938, que se aplicam perfeitamente a esta situação: "...julgo que não há terra do país onde tão insana e rapidamente se tenham demolido os valores arquitecturais do passado...", "...por certo, não foi só o tolo empenho modernizador que concorreu, par le bon motif, para tão magna destruição agora ampliada, também por causa igual pelo restaurador, pelo das grotescas reposições...".

Sombra 1: rua do Choupelo, junto ao hotel "The Yeatman".

    O centro histórico de Gaia é o local, onde actualmente, tudo é possível.
    
    Em construção está uma espécie de moderno parque temático chamado "World of Wine" ou "WoW" (a que, muito apropriadamente, a arquitecta Mariana Abrunhosa Pereira, chamou "Disneylândia" do vinho), da responsabilidade do grupo The Fladgate Partnership (detentor das marcas de vinho do Porto, Taylor's, Fonseca Guimaraens, Croft e Wiese & Krohn, que é também, na crescente dimensão turística em que se tem empenhado, proprietário do hotel "The Yeatman" em Gaia), na linha de encosta descendente a partir do hotel The Yeatman (que por sua vez é também um caso de uma construção recente e pelo menos discutível nesta paisagem), objecto de um rapidíssimo licenciamento da autarquia (li que a construção se iniciou, a "colocação da primeira pedra", sem a licença necessária). Como outros, também nada a opôr a um parque temático dedicado ao vinho, para atraír e fascinar turistas, mas certamente noutro local, porque, de facto, é um projecto que pode ser construído em qualquer outro local, mas não aqui, porque aqui é mais uma contribuição decisiva para o desaparecimento dos históricos armazéns e para a descaracterização deste local.

O WoW (1)
O WoW (2)

    É um projecto gigantesco que se impõe e destaca na paisagem, que não respeita o local que ficará irremediavelmente desfigurado e relativamente ao qual se referiu o director-geral da Fladgate Partnership, Adrian Bridge, nos seguintes termos "Quem não gosta do projecto (o WoW), também não gosta do que lá está agora...". Sem comentários, impressiona a leveza e arrogância da atitude, esquecendo que um dos motivos da sua existência desaparece com este projecto, em nome de empreendimentos turísticos e de números impressionantes, 100 milhões investidos, 30 mil hectares, 12 restaurantes, 5 museus, num admirável mundo certamente com muita interactividade, muitas lojas, e para quem o património de séculos é um obstáculo, ou pelos menos foi até agora.
Na rua do Choupelo, os antigos armazéns da Croft, com as estruturas interiores destruídas, sobram as paredes, nesta fase.

    Do discurso de Adrian Bridge é clara a estratégia seguida pela Fladgate Partnership, com a aquisição de firmas de vinho do Porto, não apenas para alargar o seu portfolio de marcas e aumento do stock de categorias especializadas de vinho do Porto, mas também para aumentar o espaço disponível de que é proprietária neste preciso local de Gaia, não para uma séria recuperação dos espaços dos armazéns, mas para este tipo de empreendimentos incaracterísticos, com o conveniente argumento de que é a única forma de os manter vivos. Existem exemplos que provam que não é assim.

Sombra 2: o n.º 149 da rua Serpa Pinto, antigos armazéns da firma Wiese & Krohn.

    Consideremos o caso recente da firma Wiese & Krohn, adquirida pela Fladgate Partnership em Junho de 2013. A W&K era uma casa de vinho do Porto de carácter familiar fundada em 1865 por dois empresários noruegueses, com grande reputação pelos seus vinhos do Porto envelhecidos em casco, sobretudo do estilo tawny colheita, e pelos seus preciosos stocks deste vinho generoso. Estava localizada na rua Serpa Pinto, n.º 149, num característico edifício com a porta principal encimada pelas letras art deco com a designação da firma, em pleno centro histórico de Gaia, um típico armazém onde envelhecia os seus vinhos desde o século XIX, diferente de todos os outros, onde se podia lêr na entrada "... viva o ambiente tradicional de uma cave histórica". 

    Imediatamente após a aquisição, os armazéns foram esvaziados e os stocks de vinhos removidos. Como aliás já tinha sucedido com as caves "Fonseca", na encosta do castelo de Gaia, conhecidas como as caves "vende-se". Uma vez que a Fladgate Partnership não optou por valorizar este espaço, desde sempre ligado ao comércio e armazenamento do vinho do Porto, encerraram as caves e este local está agora à venda e também à mercê de um qualquer "ímpeto dinâmico de desenvolvimento".
O extinto armazém da Wiese & Krohn.

    Prosseguimos com mais um chocante inacreditável exemplo da descaracterização e empobrecimento progressivo do Entreposto de Gaia, a abertura de um supermercado "cash & carry", em plena avenida Diogo Leite, no espaço dos antigos armazéns da Real Companhia Velha com cerca de 3 séculos de história, paredes meias com as também históricas caves Ferreira. Os armazéns foram adaptados, entenda-se, totalmente arrasados no interior e destruídos, com os espaços interior e exterior irreconhecíveis, transformados num supermercado, com lojas para turistas e  mais espaços de gastronomia, na parte de trás. Sempre com o beneplácito da Autarquia, que revela o seu distorcido entendimento do planeamento para o " compromisso com a rigorosa protecção do património...", mas certamente com "intervenções inteligentes", entenda-se, sem obstáculos e impedimentos aos negócios turísticos, sem condições que limitem o que quer que seja, assim é o "moderno" centro histórico de Gaia.


Sombra 3: a actual construção no local dos antigos armazéns da Real Companhia Velha, agora um supermercado.

    Por sua vez, o responsável da empresa "Douro Azul", com a rara e fina sensibilidade que dedica aos assuntos relacionados com o património histórico, informou-nos...e desconsiderou-nos que, finalmente, passados tantos anos, a Real Companhia Velha voltaria a ocupar este lugar. Um entusiasmo fugaz, porque, convém lembrar que se trata apenas de mais uma loja de venda de vinhos num edifício totalmente modernizado. 

A perspectiva da parte de trás das desaparecidas caves da Real Companhia Velha, um edifício irreconhecível.

    É estranho, difícil perceber e pouco racional que quando falamos de empresas que dependem do turismo e que, por sua vez, o turismo é atraído pelo que só aqui existe, o património histórico ligado ao vinho do Porto, que ocupa o primeiro ponto de interesse em quem nos visita, se destrua e se descaracterize conscientemente, com uma argumentação básica, e se substitua por projectos e construções indistintos, iguais a tantos outros em qualquer parte do mundo. Enfim, quando pouco restar, certamente vai ser possível um qualquer museu interactivo oferecer a experiência única e virtual de passear no interior das antigas caves:  explicar a evolução das técnicas construtivas, sobretudo dos interiores, as arcarias, as armações de madeira onde assentam os telhados, porque eram usados certos materiais na sua construção interior e não outros, as rampas, os pavimentos, as condições de ventilação, a luminosidade e a temperatura no decurso das estações do ano e inclusivamente simular o aroma sentido nestes interiores...
    
Sombra 4: o "moderno" interior do antigo Mercado da Beira Rio.

    Um outro caso, o Mercado Municipal de Gaia ou Mercado da Beira Rio, também na Avenida Diogo Leite, na marginal de Gaia, depois de uma rápida remodelação em que se eliminou qualquer traço da sua antiga tipicidade, é agora mais um local indiferenciado convertido numa série de espaços ou balcões gourmet ou pelo menos dedicados a uma certa gastronomia difícil de definir. O interior em nada difere do interior de um qualquer centro comercial, com uma definição de espaços que segue um modelo, com os habituais materiais baratos e estereotipados, para um turismo pouco exigente.
    
    Por aqui, nem rasto de qualquer "importância crescente que se vem atribuindo às questões do património", e ainda menos "da maior atenção da opinião pública para a valorização da identidade e da memória", apenas uma sublinhada reprodução acrítica e ampliada da novidade. Com raríssimas excepções, considerando a gravidade do assunto, entre jornais e revistas generalistas e dedicados ao mundo do vinho, críticos, jornalistas e figuras com responsabilidades em vários sectores, existe um estranho silêncio comprometido, uma incapacidade de indignação, ou pelo menos de opinião.

    Entretanto, todas as fotografias que tirarmos agora (cortadas pelo turístico teleférico), serão históricas daqui a muito pouco tempo.


Na rua de Serpa Pinto.

_______________________

(1) O Entreposto de Vila Nova de Gaia: criado em 1926, tratava-se de uma zona exclusiva que funcionava como prolongamento da zona demarcada do Douro, para armazenamento e envelhecimento do vinho do Porto, onde teriam obrigatóriamente de se localizar os armazéns das companhias que se dedicavem ao comércio destes vinhos generosos. Todo o vinho do Porto teria de ser exportado através do Entreposto. Esta zona exclusiva terminou em 1986, quando se permitiu a exportação directa de vinho do Porto engarrafado aos produtores do Douro.

©Hugo Sousa Machado

          Também pode interessar: